极端天气带来1-2冲床

在西部,热浪和东部严重的风暴野火取得了初夏,2012,一场毁灭性的时间,成千上万的美国人。

条件导致野火在犹他州,亚利桑那州,新墨西哥州,蒙大拿州和科罗拉多州的山区开始的拉尼娜现象的冬天,当沿着太平洋中部赤道海面温度5℃下降了3发生的条件(约7至10°F)。 香格里拉NINAS历史带来的干旱条件下,以美国西南部,和2012年的冬天也不例外。 事实上,这是最干旱的纪录之一。 在落基山脉的积雪只有23%的正常,和平时的春雨稀少或不存在。 类似的情况存在于大多数其他西方山脉。 除了无降水,甲虫为患已变成数以百万计的树木成枯枝,使西部森林火种干燥。 随着创纪录的高温和狂风添加到组合,所需要的只是一个雷击或粗心的露营者,开始大火的咆哮失控,并最终摧毁了超过200000英亩国家森林,烧毁1,500家,打死2人,并造成30,000居民疏散。

在东部地区,6月29日,2012,一个DERECHO风暴淘汰电力至3万人。 DERECHOS是直线风暴可能超过飓风,雷暴的形成在炎热,潮湿的天气下快速移动的频段产生。 6月29日的DERECHO风超过了100英里(160kph),抢购电线杆,和一个700英里的轨道从芝加哥到大西洋沿岸的损坏结构。 同时具有温度超过100°F(37°C),加上高湿度纪录的热浪袭击了美国中西部,东部沿海地区和一些东南部各州。 无动力空调和制冷,有数百中暑病例和至少15人死亡归因于风暴和过多的热量。

无论是全球气候变暖在这些极端事件的一个因素目前尚不清楚,但气候科学家认为它们代表的东西来的味道。 随着世界气候变暖,热浪会更热和更频繁,并且将持续较长时间。 水会短缺,各种风暴会包一个更大的冲击力。

戈登 关于戈登

在写他的小说海啸,戈登Gumpertz做了板块构造和海底地质广泛的研究,让小说的这项工作的地道的氛围。

说你的心

Extreme Weather Delivers 1-2 Punch

Wildfires in the west, and heat waves and severe windstorms in the east have made early summer, 2012, a devastating time for thousands of Americans.

Conditions leading to the wildfires in the mountains of Utah, Arizona, New Mexico, Montana, and Colorado began with a La Niña winter, a condition that occurs when the sea surface temperature along the equator in the Central Pacific drops by 3 to 5°C (approximately 7 to 10° F). La Niñas historically bring drought conditions to the American Southwest, and the winter of 2012 was no exception. In fact, it was one of the driest on record. The snowpack in the Rockies was only 23% of normal, and the usual spring rains were scarce or nonexistent. Similar conditions existed in most other western mountain ranges. In addition to the lack of precipitation, a beetle infestation had turned millions of trees into deadwood, making western forests tinder dry. With record heat and gusting winds added to the mix, all it took was a lightning strike or a careless camper to start a blaze that roared out of control and eventually destroyed more than 200,000 acres of national forest, burned 1,500 homes, killed 2 people, and caused 30,000 residents to evacuate.

In the east, on June 29, 2012, a derecho windstorm knocked out electrical power to 3 million people. Derechos are straight-line windstorms that can exceed hurricane force, produced by fast-moving bands of thunderstorms that form in hot, humid weather. The derecho winds of June 29 exceeded 100 mph (160kph), snapped power poles, and damaged structures on a 700-mile track from Chicago to the Atlantic coast.  At the same time a record heat wave with temperatures exceeding 100° F (37°C) plus high humidity struck the Midwest, the eastern seaboard, and some southeastern states. Without power for air conditioning and refrigeration, there were hundreds of cases of heat exhaustion and at least 15 deaths attributed to the windstorms and excessive heat.

Whether global warming was a factor in these extreme events is not clear, but climate scientists believe they represent a taste of things to come. As world climate warms, heat waves will be hotter and more frequent, and will last longer. Water will be scarcer, and storms of all kinds will pack a bigger wallop.

Gordon About Gordon

In writing his novel TSUNAMI, Gordon Gumpertz did extensive research on plate tectonics and seafloor geology to give this work of fiction an authentic atmosphere.

Speak Your Mind